2009 AWGIE Nominees Announced

25 Jun 2009


The AWGIE Awards are the Australian Writers Guild annual awards for excellence in screen, television, stage and radio writing. This years winners will be announced on 28 August at Doltone House in Sydney.

2009 marks the 42nd annual awards. Presented annually since 1967, the AWGIES are unique in the industry in that they are the only writers awards judged solely by writers, and the judging is based on the written script - the intention of the writer rather than the finished product. In order to be eligible scripts must have been produced in the calendar year prior to the year of the AWGIE presentation.

Take a look at previous winners in our awards section

For more information and other category nominees visit http://www.awg.com.au


Congratulations and good luck to the following AWGIE nominees for 2009:

Children’s Theatre, Theatre for Young Audience, Community and Youth Theatre:
All have only one nomination in each and the winner will be announced on the night.

Narrative Comedy Award:
Van Badham’s stage play Poster Girl is the only play to be nominated in that category – the other nominations are television series.


Feature Film - adaptation category:

Great to also see the screen adaptation of Bran Nue Dae by Jimmy Chi (currently unavailable from australianplays.org) up for an award in the Feature Film - adaptation category. We will keep a close eye on this one. The adaptation was by Reg Cribb and Rachel Perkins with Jimmy Chi.

More news