AWGIE Radio (Original) Award

The AWGIE Awards are the Australian Writers Guild annual awards for excellence in screen, television, stage and radio writing.

Presented annually since 1967, the AWGIES are unique in the industry in that they are the only writers awards judged solely by writers, and the judging is based on the written script - the intention of the writer rather than the finished product. In order to be eligible scripts must have been produced in the calendar year prior to the year of the AWGIE presentation.

For more information visit

Past winners

2011 THE CLERK ASCENDING by Gina Schien

2008 Fragments of Hong Kong by Katherine Thomson

2004 COVERT by Robert Jeffreys

2003 I'LL WRITE TO RICHIE BENAUD by Heather Nimmo

2002 NIGHT SWIMMING by Paul Andersen

Past nominees

2014 CONTACT by Katie Pollock

2013 EATEN by Gina Schien