Helpmann Award for Best New Australian Work

The Helpmann Awards, named in honour of Sir Robert Helpmann and to commemorate his memory and achievements, were established in 2001 by Live Performance Australia (LPA) to recognise, celebrate and promote our live performance industry, similar to the Tony Awards on Broadway and the Olivier Awards in London.

For more information visit

Past winners

2013 The Secret River by Andrew Bovell

2012 Angela's Kitchen by Hilary Bell, Paul Capsis, Julian Meyrick

2008 Toy Symphony by Michael Gow

2004 Inheritance by Hannie Rayson

Past nominees

2011 Songs For Nobodies by Joanna Murray-Smith

2010 Moth by Declan Greene