Helpmann Award for Best Play

The Helpmann Awards, named in honour of Sir Robert Helpmann and to commemorate his memory and achievements, were established in 2001 by Live Performance Australia (LPA) to recognise, celebrate and promote our live performance industry, similar to the Tony Awards on Broadway and the Olivier Awards in London.

For more information visit

Past winners

2016 The Bleeding Tree by Angus Cerini

2004 Inheritance by Hannie Rayson

Past nominees

2016 PRIZE FIGHTER by Future D Fidel

2012 Neighbourhood Watch by Lally Katz

2012 The Boys by Gordon Graham

2010 The Book of Everything by Richard Tulloch