Philip Parsons Young Playwrights Award

The Philip Parsons Young Playwrights Award is awarded each year to a playwright whose work demonstrates an original and compelling theatrical voice. Open to NSW authors under 35. The prize is a $10 000 commission to write a new play. The authors are shortlisted on a previously written play, and asked to present an outline for a proposed new work.

Past winners

2010 OLD MAN by Matthew Whittet

2007 HOLDING THE MAN by Tommy Murphy

2003 A MOMENT ON THE LIPS by Jonathan Gavin

1999 LOST LAGOON by Adam Grossetti

Past nominees

2017 TESTOSTERONE by Eliza Oliver

2004 The Seed by Kate Mulvany

2004 BACKPACKER! by Christopher Johnson