Richard Wherrett Award for Excellence in Playwriting

The Richard Wherrett Prize is a demonstration of the AWG’s commitment to promoting the Australian cultural voice. It is designed to encourage, reward and foster creativity in the Australian theatre community and further enhance our reputation as a nation that produces new, innovative and exciting works for the stage.

To be eligible for nomination scripts must be entered into the AWGIE Awards in the Stage; Community and Youth Theatre; Theatre for Young Audiences; or Children's Theatre categories.

For more information visit

Past winners

2009 SLUT by Patricia Cornelius

2007 Hoods by Angela Betzien