AWGIE Awards call for entries 2011

20 Apr 2011

The Australian Writers’ Guild is calling for entries for the 44th Annual AWGIE Award.

These prestigious accolades are the only peer-assessed awards for scriptwriters in Australia and recognise that the foundation of every great play, television series, film, radio play and interactive media is the script.  Unlike other industry awards the AWGIES are judged purely on the original script rather than the final produced work.

Recipients in 2010 included David Michôd for Animal Kingdom, David Williamson AO and Robert Connolly for Balibo, Adam Zwar and Amanda Brotchie for Lowdown and Tom Holloway for And No More Shall We Part.

Each year in addition to the AWGIE categories, over $100,000 in special prizes and fellowships are presented. These include the $30,000 Kit Denton Fellowship rewarding courage and excellence in performance writing, the $25,000 FOXTEL Fellowship recognising an outstanding body of work and the $15,000 John Hinde Award for Science Fiction. The recipient of the Major AWGIE, for Outstanding Australian Script of the Year, also receives the $10,000 Peer Recognition Prize.

Emerging talent is also recognised with the Short Form and Long Form Monte Miller Awards. These awards for unproduced scripts by an associate member of the Guild and are open to all areas of performance writing.

The 44th Annual AWGIE Awards will be presented in Sydney on Friday 23 September 2011.  

Entries for Monte Miller categories close 5.00pm Friday 8 April 2011. All other categories close 5.00 pm Friday 29 April 2011.

Award entry is open to financial members of the AWG.

To download the entry form and guidelines as a PDF click here. For more information visit the Australian Writers' Guild online or phone 1300 552 228. 

More news