9 Feb 2010


The Australian Writers’ Guild 43rd Annual AWGIE Awards are now open for entries.

The AWGIE Awards are the Australian Writers' Guild’s annual awards for excellence in film, television, stage, radio and new media writing. The AWGIEs are the only peer assessed awards for performance writers with judging based on the written script - the writer's intention - rather than the finished production.

AWG President Tim Pye said that "Over forty years, the AWG has been proud to present awards that acknowledge and reward the outstanding work of performance writers. A number of groundbreaking scripts were recognised in 2009 and I'm looking forward to a similar high calibre of writing being nominated this year."

Over $100,000 in special prizes and fellowships will be presented at the awards including the $25,000 Kit Denton Fellowship which rewards courage and excellence in performance writing, the $25,000 FOXTEL Fellowship recognising an outstanding body of work and the $15,000 John Hinde Award for Science Fiction. The recipient of the Major AWGIE, for Outstanding Australian Script of the Year, will receive the $10,000 Copyright Agency Limited Peer Recognition Prize. The 2009 Major AWGIE was awarded to Warwick Thornton for Samson and Delilah.

AWGIE winners in 2009 also included Louis Nowra and Rachel Perkins for The First Australians, John O’Brien and Christopher Lee for Rush and Andrew Bovell for When the Rain Stops Falling.

The AWG’s recognition of emerging talent continues in 2010 with the extremely popular Short Form and Long Form Monte Miller Awards. These awards for unproduced scripts by an associate member of the Guild are open to all areas of performance writing including film, television and stage and received over 200 entries for last year’s awards.

The 43rd AWGIE Awards will be presented in Melbourne on Friday 20 August 2009.

Entry to the 43rd Annual AWGIE Awards is open to current members of the AWG.

For entry forms and more information, including special prizes and fellowships, go to, email or call 1300 552 228.

Entries for Monte Miller categories close 5.00pm Friday 5 March 2010. All other categories close 5.00 pm Friday 19 March 2010.

More news