Griffin Award shortlist announced

25 May 2012

Shortlist announced by Griffin Theatre


The shortlisted plays for the 2012 Griffin Award have been announced. The winner will be announced in Sydney on 12 June.

Out of 125 entries the six shortlisted works are:


ALL OVER by Kit Brookman

SAVAGES by Patricia Cornelius

THIS IS WHERE WE LIVE by Vivienne Walshe

SCOWL by Angus Cerini

LAVENDER BAY by Alana Valentine

Griffin Associate Director Lee Lewis says the judging this year has been particularly challenging:

 "I don’t know if there are more people writing good plays or more good writers sending their plays in to the Griffin Award but it has been an extraordinary reading year. Thank you to all the writers of Australia for your brave and curious and inventive and experimental and political and funny and scary and perceptive stories. It has been a massive wrestle to get the shortlist down to six.

"In fact it is heartbreaking to look at some of the beautiful plays which have not made the shortlist."

Excerpts from the shortlisted scripts will be read on the awards presentation evening, after which the winner will be announced. The winner recieves a cheque for $10 000 from sponsor PKF.

The Griffin Award recognises an outstanding play or performance text that displays an authentic, inventive and contemporary voice. Plays or performance texts submitted may be original ideas or adaptations from other forms.

Click here for a list of previous Griffin Award winners available on

More info about the award can be found here, on the Griffin Theatre website

More news