Latest news


For news updates, new script releases and events
of interest to theatre professionals and afficionados,
sign-up to our News bulletin.

You'll also receive a one-week trial subscription
that provides access to our online perusal scripts.


4 Oct 2010

The power of the performing arts

From Arts administrator and live-theater fan Ben Cameron looks at the state of the live arts -- asking: How can the magic of live theater, live music, live dance compete with the always-on Internet? At TEDxYYC, he offers a bold look forward.
16 Sep 2010

Australia's lost repertoire

Rebecca wrote up her reflections on the forum discussion held by Currency and Griffin Theatre last month on the lost repertoire of Australian plays. Here is an excerpt from her article.
9 Sep 2010

Victorian Premier's Literary Awards shortlist

The shortlisted playwrights for the Louis Esson Prize for Drama have been announced.
17 Aug 2010

Queensland Premier's Literary Awards

The Queensland Premier's Literary Awards aim to nurture Australia's greatest talent, and to support and encourage the development of up-and-coming authors. 2010 nominees for the $15,000 Drama Script (Stage) Award include...
13 Aug 2010

Ben Ellis' The Captive at the Finborough

All you Aussie expats and holiday makers in the UK, here's another opportunity to check out the work of an Australian playwright on the UK stage. London's Finborough Theatre is staging the world premier of Ben Ellis' new play, The Captive, in November.
2 Aug 2010

Featured Video: The Building of Purgatory

23 Jun 2010

AWGIE Awards 2010

The Australian Writers’ Guild has announced the nominations for this year’s AWGIE Awards – judged by writers for writers and awarded for excellence. The writers of Australia’s best loved stage, screen and radio have been nominated for these coveted awards, which are given for the script alone, recognising that everything starts with the written word. Previous AWGIE award winners are in the mix again this year including Katherine Thomson, Greg Haddrick, Doug Macleod and David Williamson AO.
12 May 2010

The Missing Play

Australian playwrights join together on the evening of the NSW Premier's Literary Awards, in response to the decision to NOT present an award for an Australian play.
29 Apr 2010

NSW Premier's Literary Awards

From: - Allison Croggan A quick blurt, for those who think the artform that's inspired lacklustre talent like Shakespeare, Ibsen, Churchill, Beckett, Brecht, Chekhov, Bernhardt, Buchner - oh, you get the picture - isn't proper literature.
30 Mar 2010

The Griffin Award

The Griffin Award recognizes an outstanding play or performance text that displays an authentic, inventive and contemporary voice.

< Previous 12345678910111213141516171819202122232425262728293031323334353637 Next >