Mary Anne Butler

Mary Anne Butler is a Darwin based playwright whose play The Sound of Waiting premiered to a sold out season in 2017.

Her play Broken won the 2016 Victorian Prize for Literature, the Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for Drama and the 2014 NT Literary Award. It was shortlisted for a 2016 AWGIE, 2016 Nick Enright Award and 2014 Griffin Award. Broken premiered at Brown’s Mart Theatre to a sold-out season in 2015, with a sold-out Darwin Festival season in 2016, and a 2016 season at Sydney’s Darlinghurst Theatre where it received four-star reviews and the Sydney Theatre Award for Best Ensemble. Broken has had rehearsed readings at The Abbey Theatre Dublin [2017] and the Australian Theatre Company in Los Angeles [2017]. Mary Anne has recently been commissioned to adapt Broken to screenplay [Brindle Films].

Mary Anne’s Highway of Lost Hearts premiered sold out at Darwin Festival 2012 [sold-out season] with a 2013 return season by demand, and a 2014 Australia-wide tour. Highway of Lost Hearts was joint winner, 2016 NT Chief Minister’s Book of the Year, and Mary Anne adapted it to a four-part series for Radio National in 2015.

Mary Anne is a four-time winner of the NT Literary Awards, 2016 Sidney Meyer Creative Fellow, 2016 Asialink recipient, 2014 Churchill Fellow and 2015 Regional Arts Fellow. She holds an MPhil in Creative Writing and an MEd in Arts Education, and is a co-artistic director of Knock-em-Down Theatre.

Read Mary Anne's State of Play, The Happiest Accident here

BROKEN  limited
HALF WAY THERE  add to cart