Irine Vela

Irine is a composer, music director, librettist, arts writer, CCD worker and creative producer. Irine’s work emphasises the validity, necessity and excitement that diverse voices and forms bring to the Australian arts. She has collaborated with many of Australia’s finest performers, writers, directors and companies. Her work as creative producer in her former role with A.R.A.B and now with OUP has conceptualised, originated and enabled many fertile collaborations - Massive Hip Hop Choir, Melbourne Youth Music and The Centre for Poetics and Justice. She has also secured substantial funding for many projects with outstanding outcomes: suBurBan exchange at the Melbourne Recital Centre in 2011 and Poetic License at Signal 37 in 2013.

Her film and television credits include: Head On (feature film), Remembering Country (documentary drama SBS), and the mini-series The Slap (ABC). She received the 2012 APRA Screen Music Award for Best Sound Track Album. Other notable collaborations and productions include the award winning Who's Afraid of the Working Class, Do Not Go Gentle and her music drama 1975 -A Populist Opera for which she also wrote the libretto. Her choral opera Little City was acclaimed by both music and theatre critics and garnered her an Award from the Australian Music Centre for Best Composition by an Australian Composer. She is also the recipient of the Tropfest film award for Best Original Score. She was awarded a 2007 State Library fellowship to research and create the multi-media music drama - Australia in Danger - a slide night. Irine is founding member of the haBiBis. Their CD Intoxication received an ARIA award for Best World Music Album.

ANTHEM  add to cart