RE Ross Trust Award Winners 2011

29 Jun 2011


Four Victorian playwrights have won The RE Ross Trust Playwrights’ Script Development Awards. These prestigious annual awards provide Victorian playwrights with grants of between $3000 and $10,000 to enhance their scripts through workshops with a Victorian-based theatre company or group, director or dramaturge.

Award recipients are also offered the opportunity to further develop their works in rehearsed readings at the State Library of Victoria and fortyfivedownstairs in the Flashpoint series.  

The 2011 award winners are:

Jane Montgomery Griffiths has also been selected to attend the 2012 PlayWriting Australia Script Development Workshop with her play,  A Little Piece for Her Sister.

The judges said the plays submitted demonstrated a diverse range and robust level of playwriting in Victoria.

"The four winning scripts are ambitious and adventurous works. Each demonstrates a sophisticated understanding of the theatre and what it can do, and yet they are as different from each other as they could possibly be."

Read the full judges' report

The awards administrator at the State Library, Wendy Lasica, said the RE Ross Trust Playwrights’ Script Development Awards have become an anticipated part of the Victorian playwriting calendar.

"Since the Awards were established in 2003 they have been warmly welcomed by the playwriting community as a valuable support to the development of new works in Australia. The awards fill a gap in the industry and provide a wonderful opportunity for our talented playwrights to bring their works to fruition."


Source: State Library of Victoria, 28 June 2011 

More news