Reg Cribb Wins Rodney Seaborn Playwrights Award

22 Dec 2009


Tonight at the Seaborn Broughton and Walford Foundation (SBW) Christmas Party Gaz Simpson, one of the Trustees of the Rodney Seaborn Playwrights Trust, will announce that Reg Cribb's play Boundary St has won the 2009 Rodney Seaborn Playwrights Award.

The $20,000 award for the development of a play or other approved performing arts project attracted 93 submissions from across the nation, the largest number since its establishment in 1995.

Boundary St is described as an historical drama with music and original songs composed by Cribb and James Morrison. The play has been in development for the past four years and was commissioned by Black Swan Theatre Company and the Brisbane Festival.

Cribb, currently living in West Australia, was unable to attend the Award ceremony however his good friend Anna Broinowski who spoke on his behalf said:

“First of all I would like to thank the Trustees of the Award for their incredibly generous patronage of this much maligned of vocations – playwriting.

I feel it is right that the Rodney Seaborn Award highlights the need for the positive and the uplifting in the plays they choose to shortlist and award. Plays that shine a ray of hope are hard to write. They are even harder to GET right. They deserve to be supported.

Playwriting is the most collaborative of all the literary strands and this prize will enable me to continue working with and seeking advice from all the other wonderful theatre practitioners involved in this very ambitious project, known as ‘Boundary St’. Boundary St tells the story of the vexed relationship between Black American Servicemen and Australian forces in WW2 and is set entirely in a real life jazz club in Brisbane that was known as Dr Carvers.

I would like to thank the director Kate Cherry for her continued support and musician extraordinaire, James Morrison, for collaborating with me on the music. Hopefully if all continues well in the journey of this play in finding its way to the stage, Boundary St will be seen at a Festival near you.”

Reg is currently working on a Screenwest funded 3 part Mini Series about the Mickelberg Bros. and a feature film about the life of Anti Nuclear campaigner Dr. Helen Caldicott – Fury –to be directed by award winning film maker Anna Broinowski (Forbidden Lies).

Cribb has won a whole selection of awards over the last ten years. These include winning the 2001 Patrick White Playwrights Award for The Return which was also shortlisted for the 2001 Qld Premiers Literary Award.

In addition, Last Cab to Darwin won the 2003 Qld Premiers Literary Award, 2003 Patrick White Playwrights Award, the 2003 W.A Premiers Award for Best Script and the overall W.A. Premiers Award (First play to ever win this award) and the 2003 W.A Equity Award for Best New Script. It was also shortlisted for The Victorian Premiers Literary Award, The N.S.W Premiers Literary Award and 2003 Australian Writers Guild Award. His play, Chatroom, was shortlisted for the 2004 Patrick White Playwrights Award, The 2005 Qld Premiers Literary Award and The 2005 W.A Premiers Literary Award.

Reg is currently under commission by the Melbourne Theatre Company, Black Swan Theatre and the Brisbane Festival for 2010.

The shortlist for this award included:
As I Lay Dreaming by Catherine McKinnon
Ezekiel's Song by Jonathan Ari Lander
My Own Private Bonhoeffer by Elizabeth Scott
The Parricide by Dianne Stubbins
Fractions by Marcel Dorney
Starchaser by Lally Katz, Arena Theatre Co

More news