add to cart
read extractlarge order enquiryproduction rights

Preview the full script online, with an subscription

preview full script


by Wesley Enoch, Deborah Mailman

Co-written by Wesley Enoch and Deborah Mailman, The 7 Stages of Grieving is a contemporary Indigenous performance text from the highly acclaimed Kooemba Jdarra Indigenous Performing Arts. Appropriating Western form whilst using traditional storytelling, The 7 Stages of Grieving gives an emotional insight into Murri life.

This one-woman show follows the journey of an Aboriginal 'everywoman' as she tells poignant and humorous stories of grief and reconciliation. In an environment where Indigenous Australians battle racism, deaths in custody, a history of violence and the anguish of land, The 7 Stages of Grieving is a strong reminder of Indigenous peoples' will to survive, sense of humour and irony, and reinforces the traditional role of Indigenous Australians as storytellers.

"The 7 Stages of Grieving still speaks to us. Wise, honest, tender, funny and eloquent, this work for solo performer still packs a punch" - Australian Stage

StyleMonologue, drama, memory
Cast1 female, 0 male
Cast age18+
Audience ageyoung adult, adult